Cardinal Foundation awards scholarships

The Cardinal Foundation, a support organization of Gadsden State Community College, awarded scholarships to nine students in 2021. 

“The Cardinal Foundation exists to support the mission of Gadsden State and to provide opportunities for students,” said Mark Condra, president of the Cardinal Foundation Board of Directors. “It is an honor to recognize these students for all their hard work and to award them with a scholarship to attend Gadsden State.” 


The Gadsden State Cardinal Foundation awarded Vernon “Jase” Jelks of Sardis City with the Cardinal Foundation Student Access scholarship. He is a general studies student. This scholarship is worth $1,500 and assists with tuition, books and fees. 

The Swoop Sprint 5K scholarship is also a $1,500 scholarship and can be used for tuition, books and fees. Isaiah Walker of Birmingham was the recipient of one of three Swoop Sprint scholarships. He is majoring in Civil Engineering and plans to graduate in the fall of 2022. 

Erica King of Centre was also a recipient of the Swoop Sprint 5K scholarship. She is currently majoring in nursing. She will graduate in December 2022 and hopes to be a nurse in a neonatal intensive care unit. 

Robert “Robb” Corker of Oxford was the third recipient of the Swoop Sprint 5K scholarship. He is majoring in general studies with an emphasis on music. He plans to graduate in May 2022 and pursue a career in music or journalism. 

The Gerald Acker scholarship is worth $2,000 and is specific to students in the Electrical Technology program. The recipient was Trevor Arnold of Collinsville. He graduated after the 2021 summer semester with a degree in HVAC and will graduate in the summer of 2022 with a degree in Electrical Technology. 

The Alabama Homebuilders Construction Scholarship is a $600 scholarship to a student enrolled in the Construction Technology program. Hudson Howle of Rainbow City was the scholarship recipient. He plans to graduate in the summer of 2022. 

Tre’ Mitchell, a native of Portsmouth, Va., was also awarded the Alabama Homebuilders Construction Scholarship. He is majoring in Construction Technology and plans to graduate in May 2022. 

The Benjamin Steinberg Scholarship is worth $500 and is given to a student enrolled in the Nursing program. The recipient was Lisha Keith, who is a native of Montgomery. She plans to graduate in the fall of 2022 with a degree in Nursing. 

The Cardinal Foundation Calhoun County scholarship is $1,500 and awarded to a resident of Calhoun County. Keaton Gaines of White Plains was the scholarship recipient. She is majoring in Nursing with a projected graduation date of May 2023. 

The Tim and Laura McCartney Career Technical Education Scholarship provides three $1,500 scholarships for students in technical programs involving the construction trades. Mason Robinson of Gadsden was a recipient. A freshman, he is studying Civil Engineering. Nicholas Alan Rutherford of Jacksonville also earned a scholarship. He is completing his degree in Welding. A third scholarship was awarded to Daylan Tucker Day of Gadsden. He is a freshman studying Industrial Automation. 

Visit for more information about the Cardinal Foundation as well as available scholarships.



Cardinal Foundation announces new board members, names new board leadership

The Gadsden State Cardinal Foundation has 12 new board members as well as seven officers, who support Gadsden State Community College by providing opportunities for students. 

 The Cardinal Foundation elected Mark Condra as its new president. Condra has served on the board since 2018 and was the board’s vice president in 2020. He is joined on the executive committee by Bryan Dorsett, vice president; Anna Moore, secretary; Tommie Goggans III, treasurer; Steve Hildebrant, past president; and Bud Owsley and Trudy Lowe, members-at-large. 

“I am extremely proud of our newest board members for many reasons,” said Condra. “Not only are they respected members of their communities, each of them has a personal connection to Gadsden State which makes them ideal spokespeople and promoters of the college.” 

Board members can serve a maximum of two three-year terms. Members include: 

  • Honorable Tim Burgess 
  • Maj. Gen. Eric Crabtree 
  • Lynn King 
  • David Hooks 
  • Gerri Langley 
  • Gayle Macolly 
  • Nanda Patel 
  • Ricky Ray 
  • Jonathan Tang 
  • Davis Varner 
  • Bess Yarbrough 
  • Theresa Hulgan 
  • Heather Brothers New – Ex-officio as president of Alumni Association